Root beer isn’t just for floats

17 May

Since an old co-worker left town, I’ve been in charge of baking for office birthdays. She let me know when she left that it was really important to her that someone carry on the tradition of each person getting baked goods on their birthdays–no birthday month baking or shared treats allowed. So for the past two years, I’ve diligently baked 35ish times per year for office birthdays.

But sometimes you forget someone’s birthday. Oops.

I woke up this morning at my usual 6am to do clips for a client and get an early workout in. It was then that I looked at my calendar and saw that there was a birthday today. Shit! See, I keep flour and sugar and eggs around–but I was low on butter, had to no baking powder, no chocolate chips, no cream, and limited time.

So I tabled my workout and started scurrying around the kitchen, trying to figure out if I could whip something together.

Luckily, the BF and I went to Taste of the South this past weekend–an event filled with lots of swag. And luckily, Missouri had a table loaded with Fitz’s Root Beer, one of the BF’s childhood favorites, that we then piled into our swag bags and stocked in the fridge. <<Lightbulb>>

With that, a birthday treat was born: mini root beer cupcakes with a bourbon/root beer frosting.

Not to pat myself on the back, but I think I did pretty well for an impromptu 6am baking adventure.

 

Ingredients: Cupcakes

  • 2 cups root beer
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 heaping scoop chocolate topping (most recipes call for cocoa powder, but I was all out)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt

Ingredients: Frosting

  • 1 cup butter (or shortening, or half of each)
  • Powdered sugar - to taste
  • Bourbon - to taste
  • Root beer - to taste
  • Vanilla - to taste

Directions – Cupcakes:

Preheat oven to 350

1. In a medium saucepan, heat butter and root beer on medium-high heat until butter is melted. Mix in sugars and stir until dissolved.

2. Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt in large bowl

3. In a small bowl, beat 2 eggs

4. Remove root beer from heat and cool; once cool, add eggs to mixture

5. Slowly add root beer mixture to dry ingredients; mix together to get rid of any lumps

6. Grease your mini cupcake trays or use mini cupcake liners; bake for 15 minutes or until done. Note: the cupcakes will be a bit sticky because of the root beer

Directions – Frosting:

1. Use a hand mixer to whisk butter/shortening until creamy

2. Slowly add in powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time

3. Add bourbon, root beer, and vanilla to taste

 

One Response to “Root beer isn’t just for floats”

  1. Nikki Rappaport May 17, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    You totally rocked it! These look awesome! Hope your coworker was happy :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

