Craigslist Finds: August 1

1 Aug

I’m hoping this is the beginning of a fun new feature. Because let’s be real–my DC includes a lot of second-hand finds from estate sales, garage sales, and Craigslist. If you buy any of the furniture I list or sign up for any of the gigs, I’d love to know!

Mini Serving Cart with Drawers

What a beautiful vintage piece! Great for a bar cart or for a kitchen island/cutting space. For $125, the cart is yours.

And according to the seller, “I specialize in Danish / Scandinavian and American modern designs and other teak and walnut furniture from the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s. I also have an array of vintage decorative objects available, including barware, tableware, pottery, art glass, and very cool lamps.”

Bridal Shop Inventory Director – Organize-aholic Needed

Volunteering + bridal gowns. Sounds like a pretty great gig for any fashion-minded philanthropist. The Maryland Bridal Center at St. Anthony’s provides free weddings gowns and other wedding needs for brides who otherwise wouldn’t be able to afford them. They’re looking for a Type A person to help manage and organize the dresses that come in. Commitment: 2-6 hours per week.

.

Online UCLA Brain Research

Not only do you get to contribute to important scientific research, but you get a $30 Amazon gift card in exchange. Approx. 45 minutes of online tests and then you need to send in a saliva sample (they’ll send you the materials and instructions).

.

Cream Baker Chair

I can’t get over how beautiful this chair is. At $300, it’s more than I want to spend right now, but someone should snatch it up before it’s gone. Located in storage on NY Ave. No delivery available.

I hadn’t heard of Baker Upholstery before, but it’s certainly on my radar after browsing their inventory. It’s hard to tell how much they sell for, but I’m guessing a lot if this one is marked down to $300. Does anyone know more about the company?

.

Jury Research

This isn’t a ton of pay ($65 + snacks for five hours), but it could be an interesting experience. When I do focus groups, I am also fascinated to hear other peoples’ opinions. If you have nothing planned in the afternoon on August 5th and you’re over 28 years old, may be a fun way to make some extra cash.

.

$75 Paid Opinion Interview

Trek out to Rosslyn to chat with an interviewer about a new website. Based on the qualifying questions, it looks like the site has to do with travel and foreign languages. I’m guessing the commitment isn’t more than an hour and a half.

One Response to “Craigslist Finds: August 1”

  1. Lisa August 1, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I love this!! Please continue this column – I’m not very good at shopping around for deals like you are bc my attention span (and my patience sometimes) is low. I could definitely use the extra cash from doing of these research opportunities…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

