Vintage chic

29 Sep

Back in college, I did everything I could to give my apartment a clean, modern feel. I wanted black furniture, crisp edges and minimalism. How times have changed…

Now, if you were to ask me to describe my style I’d probably tell you that it’s “vintage chic modern.” Because I still love clean lines and a crisp feel, but I’ve started to lose some of the minimalism and bring more colors and tchatchkis into my style. Take West Elm and CB2, add in some estate sale flair, and you have my perfect apartment.

My apartment, which I share with my design-ambivalent boyfriend who let’s me decorate at whim, is still a work in progress–but I’m loving exploring the city and blogs to get more ideas.

Here is just a taste of two of our new additions. We also have a 6′ tall giraffe in our bedroom, a fishbowl full of rocks and fake flowers, a DIY file cabinet with off-white braided contact paper, a bright orange accent wall and a chalkboard hung in a gold picture frame–and the projects and purchases aren’t stopping any time soon 🙂

Estate sale pedestal, books (including a 1974 Guinness Book of World Records), and pre-1991 globe.

Estate sale side table + various glassware + liquor = my pseudo bar cart

How would you describe your personal style?

2 Responses to “Vintage chic”

  1. michael September 29, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    I would say dan’s ambivalence guides your style…I mean who’s idea was the pull up bar?

  2. Rachel September 29, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Ha. My friend told me our apartment looked like 1. we were really smart and 2. we worked out a lot.

Leave a Reply

