A trip down memory lane

20 Dec

When I was a junior in college, I spent five months studying abroad in Buenos Aires–the European metropolis of South America. It was an amazing experience, and I loved soaking up the culture and exploring Argentina and its neighboring countries. And boy, did I love the food. Because really, how can you go wrong with steak, red wine and alfajores?

An Argentine treat!

When I stumbled on A Cozy Kitchen’s recipe for mini alfajores, I knew I had to give them a whirl. And lucky for me, I had a cookie exchange coming for my book club coming up–so I knew I’d have willing indulgers.

The most surprising thing about the recipe–which I followed exactly–was the preparation for the dulce de leche. Apparently, an easy way to make dulce de leche is to stick a sealed can of sweetened condensed milk in a pot of boiling water and let it simmer for 2.5 to 3 hours. Sounds a little dangerous, right? After hearing warnings that you’d risk exploding sweetened condensed milk if the water level fell below the top of the can, I used my largest pot and closely monitored the evaporation. And in the end, there was no explosion–and only delicious dulce de leche!

The final product wasn’t exactly what I remember from Buenos Aires, but they were delicious in their own way. With flaky shortbread cookies and silk dulce de leche, the alfajores were huge hits with the book club girls–and are definitely cookies that I’ll make again!

 

3 Responses to “A trip down memory lane”

  1. Emily December 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Yeah. These were delicious.

    I’m also glad the condensed milk experiment didn’t explode all over your kitchen. It would have made for some good pictures though…

  2. Caroline December 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Can you please make these for book club every month?

  3. Nikki December 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    These were so good! I can’t wait to eat the last one I have saved up! Thanks for bringing these last night!

Leave a Reply

