Off to a great start

6 Jan

Despite the 18 degree weather we had to suffer through earlier this week, I am still confident in my estimation that 2012 is going to be a great year. I’m in a relationship with a man I love, I live in a wonderful city filled with amazing and passionate friends, I have the love and support of my family back in California, and am in a great job where I get to work alongside smart and engaging people. That’s not to say that things are always a piece of cake, but I’m a glass half full kind of girl. And 2012 is going to be a good year.

So when I talk about resolutions, they aren’t necessarily things just for 2012–but for life. If we’re not constantly growing, learning, and improving, we are missing out on so many new opportunities.

If for no other reason than to document these for myself and to look back on years from now, here are a few of my New Year/life resolutions:

  • Be a “yes” woman. We’ve all seen the movie, and I don’t want to be as crazy as Jim Carrey’s character, but I’m in my mid-20s and have every reason now to jump at new opportunities and be spontaneous. I want to jump into life every chance I get.
  • Self-teach and learn from others. These past few years, I’ve learned a ton from my job and my friends/family, but not necessarily in a proactive way. I loved school because there was always something new to try and learn, and I want to make sure that I maintain that mindset moving forward. There are so many places online and in the city where you can find new sources for information–and I want to seek those places out. A friend tweeted this link yesterday of 12 dozen places to educate yourself online for free, and I’d love to take advantage of some of those.
  • Be good to myself and others. I’ve done a pretty good job recently of taking care of myself by eating well, drinking lots of water, working out, sleeping plenty of hours and allowing myself to take it easy when my body needs it. These are huge steps, because like many of you, I’ve had a history of putting others ahead of myself. But moving forward, I want to focus on finding a healthy balance that allows me to be the best possible friend/girlfriend/sister/daughter, while also being aware of myself and my needs.

There are so many other things I’d like to accomplish this year and changes I’d like to make to my life, but I think most of them fit into these three resolutions.

One Response to “Off to a great start”

  1. Nikki January 6, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    These are great goals! I think 2012 is going to be a fabulous one for you. Looking forward to learning, playing, and saying yes with you this year! xo

Leave a Reply

