KitchenAid FTW

24 Jan

I knew when I got my KitchenAid that it would be life-changing. But I didn’t realize quite how amazing it would be.

Using some of my winnings from my office’s fantasy football league (sorry men of NP, you lost to a girl) to buy the KitchenAid pasta attachment. I went back and forth about whether it was worth the $160 investment, but eventually my love for homemade pasta and my dislike of rolling out the dough with a rolling pin won out and I took the plunge.

Last night, I finally got around to using the new attachment–and it was everything I had hoped for and more. Kneading? Ha. Try 1-2 minutes of kneading by hand. Flour all over the kitchen? Not this time!

My grandmother and her sister-in-law used to make egg noodles, and it was tradition for the diner to say to the cook: “Your noodles are SO thin!” Just think how thin they could have got their noodles with a KitchenAid…

Perfectly thin sheets of pasta, perfectly shaped noodles–I’m 100% sold and have found my new favorite kitchen toy! My only concern is that I’m going to start making pasta every day because it’s just so easy now.

It also gave me an excuse to continue my love affair with homemade pesto. For those of you who haven’t made pesto, you are missing out. The homemade stuff is infinitely better than anything you can buy in a jar. Just whip out your food processor, toss in a few simple ingredients, and blend to combine. It’s a 2 minute process and it yields amazing results.

Ingredients:

  • Basil leaves (use a lot; once pureed, your volume will shrink a ton)
  • Garlic cloves (start with one and add as you go; you don’t want it to garlicky)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Pine nuts
  • Olive oil

Once you get comfortable with this basic recipe, you can try adding and substituting ingredients to make your own specialized blends.

2 Responses to “KitchenAid FTW”

  1. Olga @ MangoTomato January 24, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    that looks SOOOO good! I have a manual pasta machine: it’s been neglected for a very long time.

    • Rachel January 24, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks! I LOVE homemade pasta, but rarely made it because I used to literally roll it out by hand with a rolling pin. This makes life so much easier! And means I’ll be eating a lot more pasta šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

