Food Favorites

4 Apr

One of the problems with food in DC these days (and it’s a good problem to have) is that there are too many new and delicious places hopping up–that sometimes you can feel like you’re running on a hamster wheel as you try to keep up and try everything. I love hearing from my friends about the new places they’ve tried and their favorite DC spots for various types of meals and experiences.

After mentioning Sundevich to a friend during a conversation about DC sandwich shops, he jokingly said that I needed to put together a list of my DC must-eat spots so that he’d know where he should go. Well, I took him up on his suggestion and produced my List for Kevin. It’s certainly not exhaustive, but a few of my favorite spots and favorite dishes.

  • Sundevich – awesome sandwiches
  • Blue Duck Tavern – great brunch, but their bone marrow at dinner is a must
  • VOLT – amazing dining experience, including superb service; tuna tartare and sweetbreads are awesome
  • Art & Soul – great patio and tasty cocktails
  • Acqua al 2 – Italian; get the pasta sampler
  • Birch & Barley – best chicken and waffles in town on their brunch menu
  • Granville Moore’s – H street mussels
  • Ripple – hidden gem in Cleveland Park with all locally sourced food (and now ice cream sandwiches)
  • Ashby Inn – out in Paris, VA; but an amazing meal
  • Rasika – palak chaat (crispy spinach)
  • Vinoteca – possibly the best eggs benedict in the city (+ $11 all you can drink mimosas)
  • Estadio – brussel sprouts are killer
  • Taqueria DF – random spot on 14th in Columbia Heights with good tacos

 

I promise that I’ll be back on the blog more frequently! There’s no way I’ll be a daily poster (and no one really needs to hear from me that often), but I’m going to make a concerted effort to post more recipes, reviews, and randomness!

3 Responses to “Food Favorites”

  1. Olga @ MangoTomato April 4, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    awesome list! I haven’t been to probably half of these places, but looking forward to checking out Sundewich next week.

    • Rachel April 4, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      My favorites there are the Athens and the Buenos Aires–though they’re all great!

  2. Nikki Rappaport April 4, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    YAY more places for us to try! And I totally want to go back to Vinoteca.

Leave a Reply

