When good herbs go bad

14 May

My pet peeve is when I have to buy a full bunch of some herb or another so that I can use 2 Tablespoons in a recipe, and then the rest sits in my crisper drawer while I sit around and hope that I’ll have another recipe in the next few days to use the leftovers. But I rarely do. And then the herb starts to get brown and mushy–and some of it may find a new home in my vegetable stock bag in the freezer, but most winds up in the trash.

But I’ve turned over a new leaf. No more brown and mushy herbs for me!

It’s so easy to re-purpose bunches of herbs that I feel guilty for not having done so enough in the past. Make a pesto to use on sandwiches, make a dip for crackers or veggies, add some flavor to your hummus, or even just puree your herb down and stick it in ice cubes in the freezer to use later. There are so many options that it now seems silly to have let so many of my herb bunches go to waste as I waited for culinary inspiration.

My projects whist hungover on Sunday morning:

Cilantro Pesto (to be used at a later date on white fish with a mango salsa)

  • Cilantro
  • Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt/Pepper

Yogurt Dill Dip (for vegetable dipping)

  • Dill
  • Non-fat plain yogurt (or Greek yogurt)
  • Lemon
  • Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt/Pepper

No more brown mushy herbs for me!

One Response to “When good herbs go bad”

  1. Ruth Jaeger May 15, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    Glad you’re back!!

Leave a Reply

